Pinterest

Death Records Search

Start 14-Day Free Trial

Virginia Death Records

Virginia death records are available from the Division of Vital Records and Health Statistics. If you’re looking for death record for a specific person, you also have the option of ordering one online from a website which will provide the requested information for a fee.

Death records are made public 50 years after the person passed away. If the death occurred less than 50 years ago, these records will only be released to immediate family members, such as the deceased’s mother, father, spouse, child, brother, sister or grandparent. A person who is not an immediate family member (aunt, uncle, in-law) cannot obtain Virginia death record.

Virginia Death Records Search

Start 14-Day Free Trial

Identification Required to Obtain Virginia Death Record

If you wish to order a certified copy of a death record from the Division of Vital Records, you will need to provide accepted form of photo ID, such as a learner’s permit or driver’s license. A photo ID from your school or place of employment, a passport, or Certificate of Citizenship may also be used for this purpose.

People who do not have photo ID can provide copies of two of the following documents to confirm their identity:

  • U.S. Selective Service Card
  • U.S. military discharge papers
  • Health care insurance card
  • Life insurance policy
  • Current, government-issued weapons or gun permit
  • Current pilot’s license
  • Welfare/social services identification card

How to Obtain a Virginia Death Record

Virginia death records can be ordered by mail or in person. If you are interested in ordering a record by mail, the estimated turnaround time for certified records is between two-four weeks from the date the request is received at the vital records office. Your request should be sent to:

P.O. Box 1000
Richmond, Virginia 23218-1000
General Information Number: 804-662-6200

You will need to provide the following information in your signed application or letter so that your request can be processed:

  • Name of deceased
  • Date of death
  • Place of death
  • Relationship to the deceased
  • Reason you are requesting the certificate Daytime phone number (including area code)

Make sure that your return address is included and that you sign your letter or application form.

Walk-in customers get same-day service when ordering a certified Virginia death certificate. The office is located at:

2001 Maywill Street
Richmond, Virginia 23230
General Information Number: 804-662-6200

You will fill out an application form, show ID and pay the fee to the processing clerk. The death record will be located as quickly as possible.

Virginia Death Certificate Fee

Under Virginia state law, a $12 fee is charged for each vital record check or to conduct a search of the files when no record can be found. If you’re ordering a death record by mail, make your check or money order payable to “State Health Department.”

You also have the option of ordering a Virginia death record quickly and easily by visiting a website which can access an online database to process your request.