North Carolina death records can be ordered from the Department of Heath and Human Services, the county register of deeds of the county where the death occurred. They can also be ordered from a website specializing in providing copies of vital records. You can order a certified copy of the record, which includes a certificate stating that it is a true copy of the original record held by the state office. The document also includes raised seal and the State Registrar’s signature.
Under state law, access to certified copy of death records is restricted. This information can only be released to the following people:
Information Required to Obtain North Carolina Death Records
You will also need to provide information about your relationship to the deceased.
Cost to Order North Carolina Death Records
The basic search fee to order a death record in NC is $24.00. This amount includes one copy of the record. A second copy of a death record can be ordered for $15.00. Expedited orders cost an additional $15.00 and for $15.00 more, overnight delivery within the state can be arranged.
Same Day Service for North Carolina Death Records
Walk-in service is available if you want to order a North Carolina death record. The Vital Records office is open to the public for counter service on Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m. at:
North Carolina Vital Records (Cooper Memorial Health Building)
225 N. McDowell St. Raleigh,
Telephone: (919) 733-3000
The accepted payment methods for walk-in service are cash, credit card, debit card, money order, business check or certified check. All walk-in orders are charged the expedited fee ($15.00).
Order a North Carolina Death Record by Mail
Death records can be ordered by sending a request to:
North Carolina Vital Records
1903 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1903
Order a North Carolina Death Record by Phone or Online
Processing Time for North Carolina Death Records
The standard processing time for North Carolina death records for people who passed away between 1971 and the present day is up to 12 weeks. Requests for expedited records are processed within three business days from the time the information is received by the Vital Records office. If you would like to get the death record on this basis, write the word “Expedite” on the outside front of the envelope.
If you don’t want to wait for several weeks to receive a North Carolina death record, consider ordering one online.