New Hampshire death records are available from the Department of State Division of Vital Records Administration. Death records less than 50 years old are considered private, and access to this information is restricted. You can order copies of an NH death record from a website which can access them through an online database if you wish.
Who Can Order NH Death Records
Under state law, NH death records can only be ordered by the deceased’s immediate family members, including his or her:
Information Required to Order New Hampshire Death Records
When you order a death record in NH, you will need to provide the following information:
Full Name of the Deceased
Date of Death
Place of Death
You will also need to indicate your relationship to the deceased and why you want to order a copy of his or her death certificate. Death certificates can be issued with and without an indication of the cause of death.
ID Required for Ordering New Hampshire Death Records
All applications for death records must be accompanied by a copy of valid photo ID. You can use your driver’s license, a passport, or a non-driver’s ID for this purpose. If you don’t have this type of ID, you can use a copy of any two of the following instead:
Fee for Ordering NH Death Records
The first copy of a New Hampshire death record costs $15.00. Each additional copy of the same record is $10.00. The amount charged as a fee is non-refundable. If a death record cannot be located, you will be notified of this fact.
Order New Hampshire Death Records in Person
Counter service is available at the City or Town Clerk’s Office of the location where the death occurred. You will need to contact the appropriate office to ask about hours of service. In most cases, you can get a death record while you wait (as long as it can be located).
Order NH Death Records by Mail
Mail-in requests for death records should be sent to”
NH Department of State
Division of Vital Records Administration
71 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301-2410
A stamped, self-addressed envelope should be included with your order, which usually takes 20 business days to process.
Order a New Hampshire Death Record Online or By Phone
The state does not accept orders for death records online or by phone, but you can do so through a third party vendor which offers payment processing services. These companies charge a processing fee in addition to the fee charged for a vital record search.
Ordering a copy of a New Hampshire death record from a website which specializes in providing this information is another option. Go online to place your order quickly and easily.