Death Records

When available, death records include:

  • - Date and location of death
  • - Cause of death
  • - Cemetery and obituary listings
  • - Surviving relatives

Start 7-day Free Trial Today!
First Name: Last Name: State:

Missouri Death Records

Missouri death records for people who passed away from 1910 to the present are available from the The Bureau of Vital Records. People living in the state can also access these records from their local health department. You also have the option of going online to get a copy of a record from a fee-based web site which is linked to a database.

The first step to order a copy of a death record in Missouri is to fill out an Application for Vital Record form or write a letter listing the following information:

• Deceased’s full name
• Date of birth
• Date of death

You will also need to provide information about your relationship to the deceased and the reason you are requesting a copy of his or her death record.

Obtain a Missouri Death Record in Person











Missouri Death Records

First Name:
Last Name:
State:

If you are planning to take the application for a death record to the local health department, you will need to show accepted form of ID before you will be able to access the information.

Order a Missouri Death Record by Mail In

Death records in Missouri may be ordered by mail; however, you must have your application form notarized by a licensed notary public before you send it in to the Vital Records office. Send the completed application form and a stamped, self-addressed envelope to:

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
Bureau of Vital Records
P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102

The check or money order for the search will be deposited on receipt. Allow two-four weeks for delivery of the death certificate.

Missouri Death Record Fees

Under Missouri state law, a nonrefundable search fee is charged for each five-year search of the states vital records files. You will only be allowed to receive a copy of a death record if you meet the eligibility requirements and the record is found. If no records are found, you will receive a statement indicating this information.

The fee for the first copy of a death certificate is $13.00. Each additional copy costs $10.00. The check or money order should be made payable to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services.

If you are looking for Missouri death records and don’t want to wait to have them mailed out to you, consider visiting a website which can provide this information for a fee. This may be a better choice for you if you don’t have all of the details of the person’s full name and date of death readily available to you. You should be able to conduct a death record search before placing your order.