Pinterest

Death Records Search

Start 14-Day Free Trial

Colorado Death Records

In the state of Colorado, death records are held by the Department of Public Health and Environment. They are not available to the public on demand, and certain restrictions apply to people who would like to order an official record. Another option available to you is to order a copy of a death record from a commercial website which can provide the information for a fee.


Eligibility for Ordering Colorado Death Records

Colorado death records may only be ordered by the following individuals:

  • Deceased’s current or former spouse
  • Parent
  • Stepparent
  • Grandparents/great grandparents
  • Siblings/half siblings
  • Children/grandchildren/great grandchildren
  • Stepchildren
  • Aunts/uncles
  • Nephews/nieces
  • In-laws
  • Legal representative

Colorado Death Records Search

Start 14-Day Free Trial

Probate researchers and creditors may order a copy of a death record if they can show proof of direct and tangible interest in the deceased.


Documentation Required to Order a Colorado Death Certificate

Anyone who wants to order a Colorado death record will need to produce an acceptable form of identification. The following documents may be used for this purpose:

  • Permanent Resident Card/Alien Registration Receipt
  • Certificate of U.S. Citizenship
  • Colorado Temporary Driver’s License
  • Driver’s license (with photo)
  • School Photo ID
  • U.S. or Foreign Passport
  • U.S. Military ID Card

If you don’t have any of the documents listed above, you can provide any two of the following when applying for a CO death record:

  • Birth Certificate (US only)
  • Colorado Craft or Trade License
  • Divorce Decree
  • Colorado Hunting or Fishing License
  • Pilot License
  • Social Security Card
  • Tribal ID Card
  • U.S. Gun Permit
  • W-2, Work ID or Pay Stub
  • Motor Vehicle Registration (US only)
  • Social Services Card

Fees for Ordering a Colorado Death Record

The fee for a Colorado death record is $17.00 for a first copy or a search of the files when the requested record cannot be located. Additional copies of the same record will be provided at a cost of $10.00 each, provided that all orders are placed at the same time.


Order a Colorado Death Record in Person

Colorado death records can be ordered in person, by mail or online. You can order one in person by going to:

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Vital Records Section
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO

Office hours are 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday. If you place your order before 4:30 p.m.,


Order a Colorado Death Record by Mail

If you would like to order a copy of the record by mail, you would send your request, along with a photocopy of the required ID to:

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Vital Records Section
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
HSVRD-VR-A1
Denver, CO 80246-1530


Order a Colorado Death Record Online

Death records may be ordered online through an independent processing company. If you choose this option, a separate processing fee will be added to your order. Major credit cards are accepted, and you have the option of requesting express shipping if you wish.

Along with the ordering options listed above, you can also order a copy of a Colorado death record through a website which can access this information from an online database.